1

About St. Pius X Parish

St. Pius X Parish was established on June 7, 1955 by Most Reverend William E. Cousins, Bishop of Peoria. The site for the new parish was a 7½ acre weed-covered lot on which stood a dusty frame warehouse, affectionately known as the "old barn." St. Pius X Parish celebrated its first Mass in the old barn on June 19, 1955. The young congregation worshiped there for 7 years, despite the leaky roof and sparrows in the ceiling noisily protesting the new occupants. The genial, tenacious and persuasive Father Farrell won the hearts of his new flock and the parishioners joined their pastor in the enthusiastic development of this new parish.

In the spring of 1962, a Rock Island newspaper reported that "one of the most unique buildings in the world has begun to rise in Rock Island on the St. Pius X Catholic Church site." The cornerstone of the church was laid on April 22, 1963 by Msgr. Thomas J. Jordan, then the pastor of St. Pius X. The church was designed to keep the focus on Christ as the center of our worship.

The stained-glass windows of the Church are from Chartes, France. The beautiful picture of St. Pius X at the entrance of the Church and the two windows in the Sanctuary are formed from Art Glass.

Eighteen chipped chunk glass windows form the outer wall of the Church. These portray the life of Christ beginning with the Nativity and the Good Shepherd.

The next 14 windows depict the Stations of the Cross.

Finally, we see His triumph over death in the Resurrection and the Coming of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles at Pentecost.